Weather Wednesday: Arm-Chair Chasing

Amazing storm structure from Craig Hilts

Amazing storm structure from Craig Hilts

I am so excited to be able to start talking about storm season again. We didn’t have a terrible winter but it always feels SO long to someone who is dying for summer storms!

The last few weeks has seen a return to arm-chair chasing for me and many other storm enthusiasts. Looking forward to even more live stream viewing as the season heats up!

Live streams? If you’ve never heard of them, you’re missing out and I’m here to let you in on one of the coolest things I’ve discovered in the last few years. Arm-chair chasing. Love storms but don’t have any in your area? Spend six months without them and almost physically crave a storm? Live streams are the thing for you!

Sometimes when you are watching TV you get the weather guys and gals breaking into your favorite show because of severe weather. They often have footage — someone following the tornado so you get to see it up close and know where the beast is and where it’s headed. This footage often comes from a chaser and a lot of chasers have live streams. Where you can watch, chat with others and with some you actually get to interact with them. The ones you get to interact with are my faves. I love when people can ask questions and get answers. It’s a huge community of storm-enthusiasts, wanna-be chasers (I’m in both of those categories) and chasers. There’s a wealth of knowledge to be had. Even if you are terrified of storms, this can be an amazing place to start losing some of those fears. Knowledge is the first step to dispelling fears. My story started with terror of storms, now I dread the arrival of winter and months of no storms. You can read how it all changed for me HERE.

I thought today I’d post some of my favorite links of live stream chasers to watch! Some are incredible. Some interact, some don’t. Some are pros and some are newer chasers. It’s a great collection of people to watch. The chat rooms are usually a lot of fun and the storms are awesome to watch!

I hope you’ll join us this storm season! Come arm-chair chase with us! Today (April 22, 2015) could be a great day to watch as there’s some expected storm action in Texas!

TORNADO HUNTERS <— I talk about this team a lot because they are awesome to watch.

TVN LIVE <— A pretty big collection of chasers to watch.

There are a bunch more and I’ll be updating this post anytime I find a new one to watch! Arm-chair chasing is great. All of the action, none of the danger. Which is super handy if you find storms pretty terrifying like I used to!  Now I just want to get out there!

If you have a live-stream site you want listed here, let me know and I’ll check it out!

To all you awesome chasers out there who live stream for us, you rock! Thank you for all you do!

~Sarah

Storm barn july 24-13

Awesome shot by Greg Johnson

 

 

Leave a Reply

