Five Minute Friday: Writer

My life is so busy, as I’m sure a lot of you can identify with.  I have a ton of balls in the air with everyday life, plus I’m waiting to hear back on some more of my ‘Chaser Chats’ as well as I’m going to have a special feature for those of you who followed Noel’s story with me last year.  (<– you can click there to see Noel’s story!)  So my blog has been largely quiet. When I saw Lisa-Jo’s prompt this morning though, I knew I had to get back here!

GO

be a writer

I love this line (though slightly modified) from Sister Act 2.  It resonated with me and continues to.

Writer.

This word has meant many different things to me over the years.  Often times it was just as a source of stress relief.  I used to write my emotions.  If I was sad, then a sad scene would play out.  If I was excited, so were my characters.  Of course, this made for a pretty scattered story.

Lately though, the word has taken on a different meaning for me.  Writer is more than just someone who sits and writes words.  Writer, over the last year and a bit, means someone who breathes the story.  Someone who’s thoughts are often taken up with lines, plots, drama, adventure and excitement.  With those comes the agony.  Missing lines, plot holes, too little excitement.  When I am heavy into my book, I breathe it.  When kids, husband, meals, family weren’t at the forefront, my characters clamoured over each other for my focus.  Sometimes I would have to gag them so I could get anything else done!  I went to bed with my book on my mind (scenes playing through my dreams) and woke with a NEED to write.

I love watching other writers work on their art.  I see the ups and downs, the highs and lows.  The thrill of a 2,000 word day (or few hours).  The days they pull out their hair when a single word is a struggle.  Like any other craft, there’s a TON of work involved.  The lows are so tough.  When even in your head you can’t string a complete sentence together.  When you’re so desperate you resort to telling your characters that if they ‘don’t shape up and start talking‘ that you’ll kill them off.  Slowly and painfully.  (My dear characters may have heard this once.)  But… the highs!  Oh, the highs.  So magnificent and heady, so freeing and breathtaking.  Like you could fly away from your computer and soar on the joy, but the act of pulling yourself away from the computer is too painful to consider.  Bask in it.  Soak it in for when the next low hits.  It will come.  Thankfully, so do the highs and… have I mentioned how wonderful they are?

Writer.  I am one.  I love it!  (and sometimes hate it)  😉

STOP

Fridays.  Rock.  One of my favourite things about Fridays is the chance to write with many others on a single word prompt from the fabulous Lisa-Jo Baker.  We just write without worrying if it’s just right!  Unedited and unscripted.  Don’t panic!  It starts off tough not to edit, but it gets much easier!  Come join us!  Here are the rules:

5minutefriday

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.

2. Link back to Lisa’s website (click the 5 minute Friday image above for the website).

3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule.

The heart of this community is amazing!  See more at: http://lisajobaker.com/

 

8 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Writer

  1. Aliza Latta says:

    Loved this. I often think if people could hear my thoughts when I am in the middle of writing something, they would think I am a lunatic. I love that you love to write 🙂

    • sarahssundry says:

      Aliza, thank you for coming by! I KNOW that if people could hear my thoughts they would think me a lunatic. You’re in good company, dear friend! Push past the thoughts of lunacy and just write your story. Or, better yet, write the lunacy! It’s fun! 🙂 Blessings!
      ~Sarah

  2. Natasha says:

    Enjoyed your post! Stopping by from FMF.

  3. Amen! Sister. The highs and the lows. Relish the highs … get through the lows. Good job.

  4. sarahjmcb says:

    Oh, Sarah, love this post! I never thought of myself as “a writer” until the past year or so. But when all you ever think about is new characters and plots, and when you’re reading someone else’s book and thinking, “That’s a good sentence. She’s got great descriptions, I need to learn from her” or even “I could do that better” (lol) then, yeah, you’re a writer!

Leave a Reply

