Broken Together

BrokenIt’s been a while since I’ve posted… thanks for sticking out the time with me.  The posts I have done have been pretty surface.  My mind has been spinning in circles for a while now.  I haven’t even been able to string two sentences together lately.  I hope that, as I write this, it makes sense.

The world tells us that we need to have it all together.  The perfect family, the perfect life, the perfect job.  If we don’t, we need to just try harder until we get there.  Until we reach perfection.  Perfection.

~  a state of completeness and flawlessness.

Completeness.  Flawlessness.

Impossibilities in this life.

None of us, no matter how hard we work, can attain this.  We can work hard to have a great body, a great job, a great marriage… but the fact is that all these things are flawed.  Incomplete.  We cannot attain perfection.

I heard this song by Casting Crowns and it talks about how we can be broken together.

Most of you don’t know much about me and we’ll probably never meet in real life, but one thing that you should know about me is that I am a real person.  Those people around me, that have been drawn into my world, get me.  They get the real me.  Many people know how broken I am.  My flaws, my incompleteness is not something that I hide.  I fail, often.  I am prone to anxiety and tend to leap to the worst conclusion in a heartbeat.  You know what, these are things that I am working on, but I’m grateful that I don’t feel the need to present a picture of completeness.

Why do so many of us feel that we need to have it all together all the time?  Sure, the world may shake their heads at us and condemn our brokenness.  Choosing to ignore their own and pretending that it doesn’t exist, glossing on another layer of paint to coat the chipped paint below.

Would it be so terrible if we could just sit down and discuss what we are struggling with?  The battles that are going on inside us?  Recognizing that no one is perfect?  That we are all broken?  Would that cause the world to stop functioning?

Could we all still press through this sometimes difficult, very confusing, often fantastic thing that we call life?  Knowing that the person that you sit next to in your office who is always on top of their workload, the person you sit next to in church who always looks fantastic and is always smiling, that sister-in-law who seems so confident in everything, are fighting the brokenness tooth and nail… and failing.

Or, could we do more than just press through it?  If we were able to see through the layers of gloss to the chipped paint, if we were able to strip off the gloss to the view of the very real person below, could we maybe learn to be broken together?  Could we maybe mend a few holes, supporting each other in our pain and grief and wondering, and allow God to put some pieces back together for good.  True, there will always been crack, chips and brokenness… life is just like that.

Broken2

But… wouldn’t it be better to be real?  Instead of hiding, instead of being so terrified of what others might think, to be able to be free.  To be who you are and be able to work together to mend brokenness.

Until the day that we are made complete – made perfect – we could be broken together… instead of broken alone.

4 thoughts on “Broken Together

  1. Angi says:

    So true. Thanks for your thoughts, Sarah. Great post!

  2. Jamie says:

    Well this is just what I am going through at the moment. I stuggle so much trying to hold it all together. Never letting anyone see that I am human.

    • sarahssundry says:

      Jamie, I can totally identify. The world portrays everyone as ‘having it all together’ and so we think we have to… or at least pretend to. On the inside we are ALL struggling, afraid, hurting people. I wish that more people felt okay with being real. If we were honest with each other, we could work on our brokenness and see the beauty that can come out of not being strong all the time. If we could all see beyond the mask over the pain to the very real person underneath. See that we can be beautiful and loved even with our struggles and brokenness. I pray that you will have someone come into your life who you can be real with, and who will show you the love of the Father for who you are… not for the mask you feel you have to wear. You don’t have to be strong, Jamie. Let go of the struggle to ‘hold it all together’ and just be held by the One who loves you more than you could ever imagine. I encourage you to listen to this song by Casting Crowns if you get a few moments. I’m here, too. Comment anytime.

      ~Sarah

Leave a Reply

