Darkest Before the Dawn

I have friends who are struggling.  We all have friends who are struggling.

When the valley we’re in seems more like a pit.  The darkness seeming to wipe out all traces of light on the horizon.

It’s so difficult in a situation like that to keep our eyes focused up.  On the One who is there.  Walking the road with us.  Down in the pit with us, wiping the mud from our eyes so we can see the light.  It’s so hard to see that.  Unless we are keeping our eyes open for the tiny glimmers of light, they are easy to miss.

I’m a tiny way up the hill to the side of the pit and I wish I could reach down and pull my friends out.  I long for them to see what I’m seeing.  The glimpse of the horizon.

Sunset 10-29-13 edited

The beauty in the plan.  It wasn’t that long ago when I was in the pit and I could be there again tomorrow.  For now, all I can offer is my undying support and a few songs that have helped my limp through my own pit.  My dear friends, those I know and those I don’t, I pray that these are encouraging to you.  That they offer a glimpse of light in the darkness.  Sometimes just a glimpse is all we need.  Remember that it’s always darkest before the dawn.

“You whom I took from the ends of the earth, and called from its farthest corners, saying to you, “You are my servant, I have chosen you and not cast you off”; fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” ~ Isaiah 41:9-10

Leave a Reply

