31 Days: Day 12 ~ The Sound of a Scene

music

Hey!  Welcome to day 12 on this 31 day journey.  If you’ve missed the days before this, you can find them all linked HERE!

I wanted to take today and tomorrow to talk about music.  I love music!  I kid you not when I say that I pretty much have music on from the time I wake until the time I go to bed.  It drives my husband crazy but I feel so inspired when I hear a good song.

The same goes for when I am writing.  I am able to write in silence but I am so much more inspired when I have music on.  Not only just on, but streaming through headphones right into my ears.  I am able to tune out all other sounds and distractions.  The scenes that are already alive in my head explode with detail, emotion and color!

Music talking

I’m always amazed at the difference that a song can make in how my scene plays out.  The descriptions are more thorough, the characters much more alive.  I get sucked into the world that I am writing.  I feel like I am walking alongside my characters as they face each trial.

I have a playlist on YouTube for each book.  Most of the songs that I listen to are wordless because I have enough words running through my head without adding lyrics to them.  The Piano Guys are some of my favourites, as well as Lindsey Sterling!  They have amazing songs and are SO talented!  There are songs by them for any, and all, scenes.

It’s easier to write the scenes with the proper emotional music flowing through my head.

Tomorrow I’ll share some of my favourite pieces of music with you.  Hopefully you’ll find a new favourite that you can write to!

Let’s talk:  How about you?  If you write, do you do it in silence or are you like me and love music in your ears? If you write to music, what is your favourite to write to?

~Sarah

31 days redone small

6 thoughts on “31 Days: Day 12 ~ The Sound of a Scene

  1. Angi says:

    I agree with you, instrumental music is the easiest to work by. No lyrics to muddle the thoughts and scenes already swirling around inside my head. Some of my favorite music: both of Michael W. Smith’s instrumental cd’s, Native American Flute music, old Civil War songs, scores from old westerns just to name a few. 🙂

  2. Tanya M. says:

    I feel ya on this one, Sarah. I completely understand being inspired by music. The problem for me is I can’t listen and write at the same time. I’ve tried. I have to stop writing and just listen. In fact, this post made me chuckle because I was trying to do both right now and couldn’t. My writing seems to come alive AFTER I’ve heard the music.

Leave a Reply

