31 Days: Day 5 – Stories Die Every Day

31 days redone small

I’ve really just realized how many days I still have ahead and I’m really hoping that I have enough material/thoughts to cover 31 days.  I don’t want to bore you guys to death.  🙂  If you’ve missed day 1-4, you can check them out HERE.

Tomorrow I want to give you a sneak peek of my villain, but for today I want to talk a bit more about the joys and agonies of writing.

I’ve gotten through a lot of my writing woes thanks to a man named Kevin Kaiser.  I’m not sure how it happened, but when I started this journey I stumbled upon Kevin on Facebook and was drawn to his blog.  Kevin is a writer and it seemed like every time I struggled with something, he blogged something that would help drag me out of the mud I was spinning my tires in.  I will post a bunch of links to the posts that helped me below.

One that impacted me most is titled ‘Stories die every day‘.  I’ll quote him a few times here too.  Kevin talks about different ways that stories die.  The interesting thing about it is that they are all because of ourselves.  Sure, life circumstances can make it tougher, but it’s up to us if we let it stop us from getting the words out.  I never imagined how hard it would be to write a book.  I always just thought that to those who were born to write, that were given the writing gift, that the words came easy.  The thoughts and ideas and characters all flowing like water.  Granted, some days are like that.  Others though, are a terrible struggle.  Self-doubt and giant gaps in the story can cause even the most experienced writer to question whether they really ‘have what it takes’.  Two of my favourite writers, Ronie Kendig and Shannon Dittemore, have confessed that doubt plague them too.  These are women who have published and put out amazing books!  Ronie has 11 books in print (Beowulf is on the way) and is working on a new series that I am dying to read.  RAPTOR SIX!  Sorry, got sidetracked there.  Shannon Dittemore has written a series that I adore.  The Angel Eyes Trilogy is amazing.  These women struggle with self-doubt and I consider them to be awesome writers.

Ronie Kendigshannon dittemore

What can separate us from these amazing writers is our fear of pushing through those tough times.  I admit, there were times I almost quit.  When the blank page that was staring back at me appeared as insurmountable as the tallest mountain peak.

“Stories die every day because the blank page is terrifying to face.”

It can be terrifying, disheartening and crushing when the words aren’t coming.  When the characters that were screaming at you before, are giving you the silent treatment.  It’s in those moments though that I believe show our commitment to a story.  Do we ditch it and start something new and fresh or do we force ourselves through the silence?  I have begged and bribed my characters to get them to talk to me again.  In all honesty, I threatened to kill off one of them unless they began to converse again.  You know what?  It worked.  I was at the end of my rope and I wanted this story to not be another one that I just started and never finished.  It was a stressful time, one that I’ll chat about more in coming days.

I am so thankful that I pushed through.  There is something so satisfying about seeing a book through to the end.  If you’re a reader, you know that feeling when you get to the end of a great book. Well I’m here to tell you that the feeling when you get to the end of your own book is like that times one hundred.

If you have a book in you, write it.  Even if it never sees the light of day, you’ll be so happy you did it.  Don’t let the blank page scare you.  Don’t let your characters push you around.

“Stories die every day because giving into gravity is natural and flying isn’t.”

Don’t let gravity keep you down.  Let that story fly.

“Stories die every day because we let them. And only because we let them.”

Here’s those links I promised you at the beginning.  Each of these posts meant a lot to me when I read them and I hope that they will help you too.

The Secret to Telling Every Story

Pull the Trigger Already (the post is good, but I’m not a fan of the image used)

10 Steps to Make You a Better Writer

~Sarah

I'm doing 31 days

3 thoughts on “31 Days: Day 5 – Stories Die Every Day

  1. […] Day 5: Stories Die Every Day […]

  2. griperang says:

    Thank you for the links to the writing blog – I will have to check those out one day. I really like how you are encouraging others to get their story out and to not be afraid. I am one of those people who say I can’t write and therefore have never written the book that I have always dreamed of writing. Maybe one day.

Leave a Reply

