31 Days of Sneak Peeks: Day 4

31 days redone small

I’m going to combine this 31 Days post, because Lisa-Jo made it easy, with Five Minute Friday.  Today the word is ‘WRITE‘ and that’s exactly what I had planned to talk about.  I’m going to take a break from the book clips and talk about the process a bit.  How it went for me.  Though, I know full well that not everyone has the same experience.

In case you’re just joining me now and have missed days 1- 3, you can find them HERE.

For me, it began with a dream.  If you’ve followed my blog long enough, you know my story but I’m going to share it a bit here because this is what it’s about.  I dream, often, but this one was special.  This dream took on a life of it’s own in a matter of hours after I woke up.  I remembered every vivid detail when I woke up and it stayed with me.  The dialogue all changed but the characters were all beginning to talk with each other as I went about my day.

By the end of the day, the characters were all but screaming at me to get some words down on paper.  So, I did just that.  Within one month I had more than 30,000 words written.  The novel was officially under way.

I’ve written many stories in the past.  Many partial stories.  None of which deserve to see the light of day, beyond the occasional trip down memory lane for me.  This one was different.  It felt different.  I didn’t have the ending sorted out.  Honestly, I didn’t even have the middle sorted out.  I had no idea where this cast was going to take me but I was along for the ride and loving every minute of it… until…  I’ll get to that in a day or so.

If you think you have a story in you, even if it isn’t sorted out from start to finish, get some words out.  Get the middle on paper, get the beginning typed out.

You never know what can happen if you just start somewhere!

Writing

Haven’t heard of Five Minute Friday?  We just write for five minutes without worrying that it’s just right.  You can find out more about it here:

5-minute Friday

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.

2. Link back here and invite others to join in.

3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule.

The heart of this community is amazing!  See more at: http://lisajobaker.com/

~Sarah

9 thoughts on “31 Days of Sneak Peeks: Day 4

  1. Patti Cates says:

    Hi. I am your FMF neighbor. This is very inspiring! It is exciting when ideas come to us, isn’t it? I so look forward to reading your blog again. Patti

  2. EJ Reading says:

    I love this idea of just starting. Just getting the words out and letting them make sense of themselves later. Hopping over from Lisa-Jo

  3. Tanya M. says:

    Playing catch up on my reading now, and I’m glad this is the first thing I read this morning. It sort of just set the writing/reading tone for the day. What an awesome process you walked through in writing a novel. I think I would be so caught up in trying to get every thought from beginning to end in my head before getting any words typed out. Loved this! Such great advice!

    • sarahssundry says:

      Good Morning my friend! It’s a huge learning curve and I’m sure I’ve taken years (and will keep taking years) off my life trying to learn it. I was very caught up on just getting it done at the beginning. I learnt quickly that some days will be 10 words and others can be in the thousands. You need patience to write. Something that I do not excel at! 🙂 Thank you for your kind words! You always make me smile!
      ~Sarah

  4. griperang says:

    Your idea of just writing what you are thinking is a good one, I like the part about don’t worry about the middle or the end just write and it will fall together. I am glad you were able to get your dream on paper.

Leave a Reply

