Five Minute Friday: True {To Love and Irritate}

From Pintrest

This is my man.

In his vows, he should have said ‘I promise to annoy and irritate you to the best of my abilities, because it is so much fun.

Marriage.  We all went in to it expecting one thing and I think I can safely say… we all had no idea what we were getting into.

My husband thrives, yes THRIVES, on annoying the living daylights out of me.  Seriously, it seems like the days when he should not irritate me, he is in rare form and cannot (or is unwilling to) stop himself.  There are days I grind my teeth and it takes everything in me to not scream.  Often I find myself uttering the phrase ‘You’re going to die, clown‘  when he confesses that he’s aware I’m at the end of my rope.  Which prompts him to laugh, which will often cause me to at least smile.

I never imagined that someone could frustrate, irritate and annoy me as intensely as my man does.  (I had no idea someone could enjoy irritating another person so much!)  I also never imagined anyone could make me so happy, feel so cherished and so loved.  11 years has seemed like mere days.

I grow more in love with him each day.  Real love, not the puppy dog kind.  The kind that knows his strengths (the man can fix anything) and weaknesses and sees the amazing potential in him.  He is a strong, loving, God-fearing man who is an amazing husband and father.

I love you honey… every irritating bit of you!

Can you identify with this sentiment?  I’d love to hear from you!

Want to get in on Five Minute Friday, then check it all out here:

5-minute Friday1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.

2. Link back here and invite others to join in.

3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule.

The heart of this community is amazing!  See more at: http://lisajobaker.com/

~Sarah

31 days book

17 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: True {To Love and Irritate}

  1. Patty Mejia Burke says:

    Oh, so true! I saw something on Pinterest the other day and it said something like, “I wonder sometimes how I put up with you and then I realize that you have to put up with me!”

    Isn’t marriage incredible?

    Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • sarahssundry says:

      Too true! I am so glad my husband doesn’t blog because I suspect that the world would know just what kind of crazy my man has to put up with. He’s even more awesome for doing so with such love. 🙂

      Thanks for coming by!

      ~Sarah

  2. Lydia says:

    I get it completely. My husband drives me insane, and I often SMACK him and tell him to stop acting like my big brothers. 🙂 But, he’s perfect for me. Visiting from 5 Minute Friday.

    • sarahssundry says:

      I can identify Lydia. My brother thrives on the same sort of behaviour. *sigh* Oh the men in our lives. 🙂 I’d never give mine up, but I may need to start smacking. 😉 Thanks for coming by!
      ~Sarah

  3. Tanya M. says:

    Hahaha, friend. So funny and so true. I think it’s kinda adorable when it’s done intentionally only because they know it irritates us. (I’d be lying if I said I didn’t do the same to my man.) I’m just glad we can laugh about it and still love them. Happy to see that your man still makes you feel loved and cherished. Enjoyed this glimpse into your married life. So fun!

    • sarahssundry says:

      Tanya,
      I admit that most days we have a lot of fun irritating each other. We have so much fun together and I never knew how awesome it would be to be married to my best friend! 🙂

  4. Becky says:

    Yep, so true! I ‘m pretty convinced there is a 12 year old boy trapped inside every man. I use the phrase, “Please don’t do things you know I’ll hate.” Glad you can see through the irritations to the blessings of being married to your man. Thanks for sharing. Visiting from FMF.

  5. Laurie Byrne says:

    I have a son who lives to irritate me….he drives me CRAZY but I love him to bits! 🙂

  6. sarahjmcb says:

    SO true!! Glad I’m not the only one that feels that way… haha. We’ve been married for four and a half years and I can’t figure out how he doesn’t know what annoys me by now. But I love him despite all that and couldn’t live without him. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • sarahssundry says:

      Haha Sarah, I can almost guarantee that he knows exactly what annoys you. It doesn’t take long for them to pick up on it… and use it to their advantage. Often I picture God laughing long and hard at the way my husband acts. 🙂 What a life! 🙂

  7. Stephanie says:

    I understand! I’ve been told numerous times “I’m your husband, I get to irritate you.” Somehow I don’t remember that being in our vows… But then he always asks “would you love me as much if I wasn’t like this?” Sometimes I can’t help but leave him with silence for the answer on that one!

    • sarahssundry says:

      Haha, Stephanie, silence is a great choice of weapon. Funny how many husbands seem to have the same logic. Marriage gives them an wonderful opportunity to practice their annoyance skills. 🙂

  8. Glad you shared on MaryLu’s crew. My hubby says he always knew he needed a sassy wife and I am way more sassy than he could have ever imagined AND he loves it. Haha! So yep, we get it too. I did this FMF too. Tough one for me. 🙂

    • sarahssundry says:

      Jessie,
      I’m glad that you could identify with my post. It was fun to write, though my husband sure tested my patience this weekend. 😉

      Thank you for sharing your post with me. Such a beautiful and hard truth that you are writing about. Your heart is sitting there on the page and reached out to touch mine. I am praying for you and your family as you face this pain with the help of the Lord. Sending hugs to you my friend.
      ~Sarah

  9. […] Five Minute Friday: True {To Love and Irritate} (sudryandspecific.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

