Five Minute Friday?: Worship

Gutter by erix!

Okay, so I am a day behind but I think it still counts so… here I

GO

Worship.  What does that mean to you?  Since I love adding definitions in, here’s the definition of worship:

Worship:
reverent honor and homage paid to God or a sacred personage, or to any object regarded as sacred.  OR adoring reverence or regard.

So, who or what do you worship?

In this age of increasing technology I’m sure many people, if they were honest, would admit that they revere and regard technology.  As I write this, I admit that I have been in awe of that wonders of technology.  I have been known to spend too many hours on FB and Twitter, connecting, chatting and just wasting time.  I’m not saying that time on the computer/phone etc… is bad.  There are some pretty awesome things about technology!

However, as I read Ezekiel 16 this morning, I was struck with how often we give our devotion to unworthy things/people.  I don’t know how many of you have read Ezekiel 16 but this is what I read.

God found us, poor, naked and dirty.  He covered us with His garment.  His spotless garment.  He gave us food, clothing.  He lifted us and placed a crown on our heads.  We are loved, cherished and so blessed.

Yet, we turn.  We turn from this blessing, from this love.  We worship whatever comes our way that catches our attention.  It could be technology, celebrities, alcohol or shopping.  We were lifted from the gutter by the Father yet sometimes we cast ourselves back into the gutter and worship what is not worthy.

Or, we worship ourselves.  We see how we have a crown from the Father and we consider ourselves lofty and above others.

I know that this may rub some people wrong, but we need to make sure that our worship is centred on the One who is worthy.  The One who pulled us from the gutter and chose to love us, in spite of our filth.  Technology won’t do that.  Celebrities, alcohol, and shopping certainly won’t do that.

What kind of example do we set?  How can we point others to the Father if we are worshipping the same things they are?

So, when we find ourselves back in the gutter, messed up from all the wrong kinds of worship, let’s extend a hand to the One who will take us back out.  Worship from the gutter and then keep worshipping when you get out!  Don’t forget who takes you out!

This is my prayer:

STOP

I’m speaking to myself here and, if you feel like this applies to you, then I hope that we take it to heart.  The Lord loves us, unworthy as we are, and He deserves our worship and our devotion.

Want to get in on Five Minute Friday (I assure you, they’re not all this heavy!), then check it all out here:

5-minute Friday1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.

2. Link back here and invite others to join in.

3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule.

And the fun. And the heart of this community.. – See more at:http://lisajobaker.com/#sthash.fF1a3h5R.dpuf

 ~Sarah

6 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday?: Worship

  1. Marcy P. says:

    Isn’t a beautiful treasure we have in Christ? That we can live in the gutter and He’s always there to pull us out? Of course we don’t want to be there… and He has SO much better for us. But He’s willing to dive in, get “dirty” and pull us up. Christ entered this world- entered our muck and filth, living among us, with us… and yet we would turn our eyes. Thanks for the call to turn our eyes to Him! To keep them from wandering to the lusts of this world. Bless you!

  2. Tanya M. says:

    Okay, friend. Four things. 1) “How can we point others to the Father if we are worshipping the same things they are?” YES. THIS. WOW! JUST WOW! 2) Love that your thoughts on worship have prompted me to now go read Ezekiel 16. 3) I love, love, love Unspoken, and also that song as your prayer, and… 4) How is it that we are not FB friends??? 🙂 So very glad you shared your thoughts on worship in this wonderful post!

    • sarahssundry says:

      Thank you my friend, you are such an encouragement. I hope that you got as much out of Ezekiel 16 as I did. 🙂 I’m just new into Unspoken but so far I love what I’ve heard! Also, check your friend requests. I found you first. 😀

  3. Visiting from FMF. Loved this idea…I just started to read a book obout the need for humility in the face of the greatness of our God. How stubborn we are. I also think of the story of Hosea and Gomer. Oh how his heart must break in his love for us. Loved your entry. Keep up the good work

    • sarahssundry says:

      Thank you for coming by! I’m so glad that you enjoyed my post. I pray one day that my stubbornness will stop getting in the way of what God has planned for me! One day at a time. 🙂
      ~Sarah

Leave a Reply

