Five Minute Friday: Beautiful

GO

I’m thinking of giving up make-up.

We are bombarded by images.  Every second commercial has a woman who is trying to ‘turn back time’ and ‘make her lashes longer’ and ‘get fuller hair’.  The message says that we should not EVER be content with our bodies.  Our wrinkles are ugly, our hair is flat, our eyes don’t glow.  We are imperfect.  Yep, we are imperfect but we were made in God’s image.

God looksThe other day my daughter vanishes for a while and reappears all dressed up, hair up and lip chap on.  She comes down from her room asking me for water.  When I innocently inquire what she needs it for, she says ‘I need it to look pretty’.  Confused, I ask how it is going to make her look pretty.  She shows me that she’s going to put it on her fingers and try to get her eyelashes to ‘stand up’.  When she can’t get her hair just perfect, she is saddened nearly to tears.  ‘I want to look pretty for my friends’ she says sadly.

I picture the many times she’s stood in the bathroom with me while I do my make-up.  ‘Mom, what’s that for?’  The common question.  Sadly, my common answer is ‘I don’t really know honey.’  Why do I torture myself trying to curl my eyelashes and then bite back a curse when I stick the stupid mascara wand in my eye?  Why do I agonize over the right color palate?  When did we become not good enough?  Why do my sparkling green eyes need help from a few torturous devices?

I’m running out of time so I’ll get back to my first point.  

I’m thinking of giving up make-up.

I sit my daughter down when she is sad about her hair and say ‘Honey, you are a beautiful girl.  Your friends don’t care if your hair is perfect.  They are coming to play with you because you are fun, loving and wonderful to be with.  Remember, what does God look at?’  She sighs and looks at me with eyes that mirror my own green and says ‘The heart, Mommy.  He looks at the heart.’

Thank you baby, I needed the reminder too.  I would gladly give up make-up to show you that you are beautiful without it… and so am I.

STOP

Want to get in on the fun of Five Minute Friday?

Let’s write… unscripted, unedited, unchained.  Let’s just write and not worry if it’s just right.

Here’s how:

5-minute Friday1. Write for 5 minutes flat for pure unedited love of the written word. (click on the 5 minute Friday image for the word prompt…it changes every week!)

2. Link back to Lisa-Jo’s blog (and don’t forget to invite others to join in).

3. Make sure to encourage the five minuter who linked up before you.

Please let me know if you decide to join in!  I love reading Five Minute Friday posts!

Sarah

10 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Beautiful

  1. Leah Marie says:

    I think we just don’t realize how much the way we treat ourselves has an affect we have on our children. I have all boys, so these conversations are a bit different in my house… but I do strive to think better of myself so that they will think better of themselves, if I’m making sense.

    Happy Five Minute Friday!

    • sarahssundry says:

      Thank you Leah! I totally get what you’re saying! If we can just teach our kids to see themselves they way Jesus sees them! Thanks for coming by!
      ~Sarah

  2. Mia says:

    Dear Sarah
    I never had girls but I can imagine what a responsibility it must be to teach your daughter about the vanity of the world and the real beauty that comes from God and is within! I agree with the make-up! It should all be done in moderation.
    Blessings XX
    Mia

    • sarahssundry says:

      Thank you Mia. Mine are just starting to see the vanity in the world and it’s scary how quickly it sinks in. I pray I can teach my kids what is truly important!
      ~Saarah

  3. Bekka says:

    As someone who has only ever worn make-up for “date-night” (which is rare), or for fun, I can tell you it makes life so much easier.

    It takes me far less time to get ready in the morning, and before bed. The few times my daughter has asked me about make-up, I explain it’s for special occasions or for fun. It’s helped a lot, I think. Other than a brief time period at a baby sitter’s house where the sitter’s daughters heavily applied make-up (at the age of 4 and 6 I might add), my daughter has never made a big deal about make-up.

    I didn’t realize how blessed I was until I read your post and realized we’ve avoided that particular issue.

    It’s never too late to change an attitude or opinion 🙂

    • sarahssundry says:

      Thank you for the encouragement Bekka! I think I’ve been so trained that it’s ‘needed’ that it is hard to break that course of thought. I see it sinking in with my girls already and want to stop it in it’s tracks! 🙂

  4. Tanya M. says:

    Oh girl, I needed to hear this today, too. Such an important message for our daughters and for us as women. Caught my daughter trying to put my blush on her cheeks today, and she said “I LOVE MAKEUP!” Scary and sad that she has that mentality at 10 years old. But I love your example to your daughter. And, by the way, I love learning more bits and pieces about you – like that you have green eyes :=) Oh yeah, and it really isn’t worth us poking our eyeballs with the mascara wand. I do that all the time! 🙂

  5. sarahssundry says:

    Thank you Tanya for your always encouraging comments. You make me feel so blessed! I’ve gone so far as to avoid the mascara routine (unless it’s date night) since I hate the stinging and burning that goes along with application sometimes. I like when my kids ask if I have makeup on and I say no and they say ‘You’re so pretty Mom’. Makes me smile. Beauty is on the outside, but the important beauty is on the inside.
    ~Sarah 🙂

  6. sarahjmcb says:

    GREAT post, Sarah!! 🙂 I don’t get the eyelash curler thing either. Tried it a couple of times… threw it out. Haha. But seriously, what a beautiful story. I’m sharing this.

Leave a Reply

