My First Chase!

Okay, I’m not 100% sure that you can technically call this a storm chase when I just had to drive a few minutes out of my own city, but I consider it a chase because I left my house and went out of the city to see it.  (I’ve been told it’s more like storm spotting!)

Whatever it was, it was awesome!!  I could not have asked for a better storm to hit off the season with.  I didn’t get to see a tornado or even a funnel (I don’t think…) but there was a lot of awesome in this storm.

Storm 1First of all, the thunder was continual!  When I say continual, I mean it.  I hardly saw any lightning strike the ground but I never heard a break in the thunder.  It was awesome.  There must have been a ton of intracloud lightning up there.  I’m convinced that the view from above this storm would have been awesome too!  As I sat in the field (in my vehicle) I was enthralled to see this small cloud, below the giant ‘mothership’ cloud, was rotating.  It was amazing!  I’ve never seen such motion in person.  I watch a lot of live feeds from storm chasers in the field but this was amazing to see in person.  For about half an hour I watched this storm rotate.  Soon it began to become disorganized and I could see that the rotation was slowing.  Then the rain swept in.  I was way too close to a pretty intense flash of lightning and decided that my day in the field had ended and so I headed home.  Even when I got home the rotation had nearly gone but was still visible.  It was too close to my house for me to want it to still drop a tornado, but it was still neat to watch until it ended.  Then, at the tail end of this storm, I also got to see a double rainbow.  Very cool!  I just wanted to share this cool experience and write it down in case I forget down the road… which is doubtful.  Here’s the awesome rotating cloud in this massive supercell!

11

Have you ever had a cool storm experience?  Do you chase?  I’d love to hear your stories!!
~Sarah

 

6 thoughts on “My First Chase!

  1. Mia says:

    Dear Sarah
    Great pictures and I can imagine what an awesome experience it must have been! If you waited a bit longer you might even have seen a few aliens getting out of the baby-ship cloud.
    Blessings XX
    Mia

  2. Angi says:

    Wow! Sarah, you took some gorgeous pics of this storm. Wish I could’ve been there with you. Would love to have seen this in person. My aunt was in a tornado once and she said the same thing about the thunder, that it was continuous. So who knows, maybe you were closer than you thought. But like you, if I were to view one, I’d want to do it in an open field with no houses or property to be destroyed and no one to be injured. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    • sarahssundry says:

      Thank you Angi! It sure was amazing to see in person and I’m okay that it didn’t drop a tornado. It was really close to the city. 🙂 Thanks for reading about my experience! Hope you get to have a similar one some day!
      ~Sarah

  3. WOW! You go, girl! I’m so excited for you–this is the beginning of something big AND fun!

Leave a Reply

