Five Minute Friday: Listen

Welcome to Five Minute Friday at my blog.  I’ll explain a bit more on what that means at the end.  For now…

GO

From Pinterest

Listen.  You’d think that wouldn’t be so hard to do.  Close mouth, open ears.  Yet, I struggle on with it.

I am anxious.  I hate it.  Not just the regular ‘Oh dear, I have to get up in front of a crowd and do a presentation’ type of anxiety.  The kind that makes me feel sick to my stomach and can make food uninteresting.  Boo.  Big time boo.

Walking around the block today (exercise helps!!) I kept hearing from the Lord.  ‘Trust in the Lord with all your heart.’  It kept repeating in my head.

‘Trust in the Lord with all your heart.’  Okay Lord, for sure.  Until life seems to unravel a bit.

‘Trust in the Lord with all your heart.’  Sure Lord, but can we compromise and I’ll trust you with this half of my heart?  How about a quarter.

‘Trust in the Lord with all your heart.’

It kept coming, over and over.  This isn’t a question.  This isn’t the Lord saying ‘will you trust me’?  This isn’t him begging me.  This is a statement.  He is saying ‘DO IT’!  He knows that it is the best thing for us.  He knows that the moment we stop trusting Him, life gets uglier.  It gets crazier and it gets WAY more worrying.

I want to live each moment trusting Him.  God, help me.  Help me listen to you when you say ‘trust me’.  In the years ahead, tomorrow, and in the moment that follows this one.  I want to trust You for You have proven worthy of my trust, repeatedly.

STOP

Want to get in on the fun of Five Minute Friday?

Let’s write… unscripted, unedited, unchained.  Let’s just write and not worry if it’s just right.

Here’s how:

5-minute Friday1. Write for 5 minutes flat for pure unedited love of the written word. (click on the 5 minute Friday image for the word prompt…it changes every week!)

2. Link back to Lisa-Jo’s blog (and don’t forget to invite others to join in).

3. Make sure to encourage the five minuter who linked up before you.

Please let me know if you decide to join!  I love reading Five Minute Friday posts!  Thanks for coming by!

~Sarah

5 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Listen

  1. Mia says:

    Dear Sarah
    Our God knows very well we cannot do trust out of our own. Trust is something that grows as we experience and see how much He loves us and cares for us! I wouldn’t want my children to just trust anyone and so many people have been hurt terribly in Jesus’s name that they cannot trust Him even of they try their utmost! S just walk with Him everyday and He will earn your love and trust through His incredible goodness and grace.
    Much love XX
    Mia

  2. Derek says:

    Lovely post Sarah! I couldn’t get my phone to get the word of the day to define my comments, so I decided to take your blog and let it inspire me to share some thought and realizations the are related to what you discussed. Although I will be conversing with you, I am really just ‘thinking out loud’ for anyone that wants to ‘listen’. Finally, I don’t know you all that well, so I apologize if what I say is old news to you. Ultimately I am speaking to whoever my words could help or inspire, with no expectations. Ok.. here we go! 🙂

    *****************

    Sarah think that it’s great that you are being open and honest about the challenges you are having with some aspects of your faith. As you know full-well, nobody said living a God-honouring life would be easy, right? 🙂 All we know is that we are promised that it will be rewarding and enlightening, and that ‘struggle-free’ was never part of the deal!

    The one thing you, or anyone else should never do is feel guilty when you struggle with keeping the faith and dealing with all our doubts and fears. Heck, David & God got into some heated debates about God’s intentions for David, and it is quite clear that The Lord actively encouraged these dialogues! Also, Moses was constantly playing the “Why me?”, and “You expect me to be able to do what?!!” tune as well. And, yes, God encouraged those conversations too, all the while remaining patient and even demonstrating humour. And when Jesus chose his disciples, he included Thomas, who Jesus darn well knew was a ‘doubter’! The message is clear; we are not expected to be ‘perfect’ when it comes to having a complete and unwavering trust in our Heavenly Father…..we’re just called to keep working on it and ask God for support and guidance when we struggle in these matters.

    So Sarah, you have been doing the very things God values when building a relationship with Him….and also when building relationships with other people as well. Awesome! 🙂

    BTW, these lessons extend beyond our personal connection with God. The fact is that building and maintaining any sort of relationship with a fellow human being takes a lot of work, and a ton of communicating. And, believe it or not, if all parties are doing things right, there WILL be disagreements and things WILL get messy from time to time. Such is the nature of our species, and God planned it that way! 🙂

    Of course none of us should be looking for opportunities to initiate conflict, but if one is starting up, there’s no need to do everything in our power to avoid it. This is where trusting the Lord comes into the equation.. Just as He treated David, and Moses, you must treat others. So when conflict arises, you must accept and trust that if the ensuing disaggreement is served with large servings of respect, humility (this is not a form of weakness), authenticity, and trust, along with a side order of patience, then you will not only come to a constructive and mutually respectful solution or peace treaty with the other person, but the relationship you’re working on will be stronger, and you will be honouring the Lord by following his desires. Furthermore, you will have earned for yourself an opportunity to discover a bit more of God’s plan for you and His intentions regarding the relationships with others that you have been constructing, repairing, strengthening, and celebrating! 🙂

    So fret away Sarah, and feel free to respectfully and humbly give God a piece of your mind if need be. Ask Him the questions that burden on your heart and pray for the wisdom to hear His answers loudly and clearly. Be open and honest with The Lord, (‘warts and all’ as my grandparents used to say), and know that what you shared with us is exactly what we all should be doing!

    I’m looking forward to your next post in your blog! 🙂

    p.s. I took me 5 minutes to write this, but a LOT longer to type it out on my phone and proofread it a hundred times! I hope that this doesn’t count as breaking the rules yet made! LOL! 😉

    • sarahssundry says:

      Derek,
      I am so grateful that you took the time to reply on my blog with such great thoughts! I am grateful for what you’ve said. Wonderful to know that there is a great line of godly men and women who struggled with trust as well. I rarely remember that these great heroes of the Bible struggled as I do.
      I really liked how you said “And when Jesus chose his disciples, he included Thomas, who Jesus darn well knew was a ‘doubter’! The message is clear; we are not expected to be ‘perfect’ when it comes to having a complete and unwavering trust in our Heavenly Father…..we’re just called to keep working on it and ask God for support and guidance when we struggle in these matters.” I am honoured that He has included me even though I am a ‘doubter’.
      Great five minute Friday, Derek! Especially considering you typed it out on your phone!!
      ~Sarah

  3. I know. Why do we struggle with any+thing when we clearly know that ALLLLL that is needed is provided ALLLLL+ways? Always has been. Always will be. Here’s to listening. To trusting today; in each sacred moment throughout this day!

Leave a Reply

