Five Minute Friday: Imagine

From Pinterest

GO

I failed.  Bombed.  Went down in flames.

There’s a line in a show I used to watch that goes ‘You’ll never make a good doctor if your head explodes!’  I suspect it hold true for being a Mom.  Except that I today, my head exploded.

I was grinding my teeth together, snubbing inappropriate words in my head and had my arms crossed so tightly that my shoulders still ache.

I pulled a classic Donald Duck.  I did not control my temper or seemingly care to.

temper

Afterward, of course, I felt like garbage.

Sitting here I saw Lisa’s email titled ‘Imagine’.  My first thoughts were ‘Imagine when temper is no longer an my first impulse.’  ‘Imagine when anger is banished.’  ‘Imagine the day that life gets easy – no, is easy.’

I’m sure it comes on the heels of reading a beautiful post by my lovely friend Tanya.  You can see it here.  My heart echoed her sentiment.  I imagine the day when I don’t have to battle anything in my nature, when my nature will be closer to His.

Especially on days like today, I like to imagine that I can do better and then… ‘press on toward the goal’.

STOP

I love Fridays… even when I don’t have a positive experience to write about.  Thanks Lisa-Jo for this wonderful opportunity!

Want to get in on Five Minute Friday?

Let’s write… unscripted, unedited, unchained.  Let’s just write and not worry if it’s just right.

Here’s how:

5-minute Friday1. Write for 5 minutes flat for pure unedited love of the written word. (click on the 5 minute Friday image for the word prompt…it changes every week!)

2. Link back to Lisa-Jo’s blog (and don’t forget to invite others to join in).

3. Make sure to encourage the five minuter who linked up before you.

Please let me know if you decide to join in!  I love reading Five Minute Friday posts!  

~Sarah

12 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Imagine

  1. Mia says:

    Dear Sarah
    Oh, my friend, you are just part of this species called humans. I think Paul spoke from experience when he told the Galatians that the Spirit and the flesh will on this side of heaven, always be striving against each other. May the sweet Holy Spirit win more times than us!!!
    Happy FMF
    Mia

  2. Jacque Watkins says:

    Oh Yes!! As a mom of 5 I can SO relate to your words and find myself battling that nature hourly, if not minute by minute. And I’m so thankful our worth is unrelated to our perfection, and just so very dependent on His. Grace and forgiveness are often easy to accept from Him, but such a challenge to apply to our own hearts. Blessings to you…in Him our mercies new in every moment!! xoxo

  3. Janis Cox says:

    Love it. You did have a good experience because you see the problem. You didn’t just go blindly ahead and forget it. That’s a great step to losing the reactive anger. Oh I so had that.
    Now I know that one reason that I am better at controlling my anger is I am older, retired and not embroiled with children who can make us react quickly. But I also know that each time we get better – and that is what we are – a work in progress.
    Love your honesty.
    Many blessings for a great tomorrow,
    Janis http://www.janiscox.com

  4. Sarah, your honesty is so refreshing because everyone loses their temper sometimes, it’s just that not everyone is humble enough to admit it. I didn’t get a chance to do FMF today, but sure enjoyed reading yours, bless you.

  5. Pattyann says:

    Sarah, remember that we take ourselves are our very worse and compare ourselves to what we imagine is everyone’s best. We are not perfect. Neither are “they”. I promise that you can learn, that you can do better, that you are enough. I am older now and slightly wiser. I have learned that we all make mistakes and that the hardest ones to forgive are my own. Thank you for sharing. You are not alone.

    • sarahssundry says:

      Yesterday I really was surprised with my reaction. Surprised and saddened. I want to be better. I pray I will be. Thank you Pattyann for the encouragement!
      ~Sarah

  6. Tanya M. says:

    Oh friend, I love how refreshingly human and honest and transparent this is. We all have days like that, and it only makes us pray more and imagine harder. *Sigh* Oh yes, soon, there will be day… Until then, let’s take comfort always in knowing that when our flesh is weak, His spirit is stronger in us. Praying for you right now, that any burden of guilt be lifted from your heart and that you’ll have a peaceful weekend.

Leave a Reply

