The pain of this world.

A dear friend of mine is going through a tough time.  I hear her frustration and her desperation… even though the words come through Facebook to me.

My heart breaks for her.

Pain sucks!

“And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose.” ~ Romans 8:28

I am grateful for this assurance.  Yet sometimes the darkness crowd in from all sides, pulling us down into the depths and away from any sign of light at the surface.  It’s hard to function, hard to think, hard to see Him at work.  This world is terrible and tough sometimes.  Events in Boston and Texas this week are still very fresh in everyone’s minds and it’s hard to see how any good can come from it.

Yet, it’s there.  Right there in the words above.  We may never see it, but He has promised that He is working the pain for good.

Don’t ask me how.  Thankfully, I am not God.  I cannot even begin to fathom the plans He has for me… let alone the plans He has for the rest of the world.

One thing I do know though.

 Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.”~ Philippians 3:13-14

Forgetting what is behind.  Whoo.  That’s hard unless all is going well in your world.  You know what?  If you’re a believer and right now your world is filled with pain and darkness… He is with you.  He isn’t waiting for you at the end of the darkness.  He doesn’t have his hand outstretched to you, saying ‘come’!  He is right there.  Arms wrapped around you.  With you in your pain.

“…He has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.” ~ Hebrews 13:5

Never!  Never!  Not ‘I won’t leave often’.  So, even in the darkest night.  Even when the pain is so overwhelming you think the next breath will shatter you.  HE IS THERE.  You can rest assured that, even if you can’t feel Him, He is there.  What a beautiful, wonderful assurance!

But, it get’s even better!

Eternity by Waiting For The Word

He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.” ~ Revelation 21:4

One day, we will be with Him.  No more tears, no more death, no mourning, no crying, no pain.  How my heart aches for that day when the Lord sweeps us up to be with Him forever.

If you’re hurting today, rest in His embrace.  Don’t feel like you have to force yourself up right now.  Just rest in Him.  Rest in His promises.  Know that you are loved.

“Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.” ~ Matthew 11:28

Are you trapped in the darkness today?  Unsure of where to turn?  Turn to Him.  Take His promises to heart.  They can be for you too!

~Sarah

P.S. Forgive any silly commercials that come before the song posted below.

5 thoughts on “The pain of this world.

  1. Chaplain Debbie says:

    Amen…very good post.

  2. Colleen says:

    Thanks, Sarah, this is very true. We had a fantastic sermon on this same topic last week. You might want to skip through his missions report at the beginning, but it’s short. Then he explains the true meaning of the “Jesus wept” verse. It spoke to me very deeply. http://www.19thavenue.ca/sermons/2013/April_14_2013.mp3

  3. Jacqui says:

    I hear you, Sarah!! It’s crazy to me that God never intended the pain! That the world was once perfect and sinless. Like you mentioned, with events like Boston and Texas, it’s even harder to imagine. And He will be faithful to keep His Word…to put the world back in order one day. Thank you for sharing your heart and speaking encouragement. I hope you had a good Saturday! Blessings!

    • sarahssundry says:

      Thank you for those words Jacqui. It’s wonderful to know that one day we won’t have to endure the trials and pain. Thank you for visiting and for the encouragement!
      ~Sarah

Leave a Reply

