Five Minute Friday: Jump

Jump by Photo Monkey

GO

I want to jump.  When He says ‘come’, I want to jump.  I want to abandon whatever I am doing and go.  Even if it means I am walking into something that is virtually unknown.  Gosh, that’s a scary thing.  I’m not one to enjoy unknowns… at all.  I want to be in control all the time.  That isn’t the life I’ve chosen though… nor is it what this life, this world, is all about.  We’ve been called.

Passing alongside the Sea of Galilee, he saw Simon and Andrew the brother of Simon casting a net into the sea, for they were fishermen.  And Jesus said to them, “Follow me, and I will make you become fishers of men.” And immediately they left their nets and followed him.  And going on a little farther, he saw James the son of Zebedee and John his brother, who were in their boat mending the nets.  And immediately he called them, and they left their father Zebedee in the boat with the hired servants and followed him.” ~ Mark 1:16-20

They immediately left.  They jumped off those boats and jumped into the life that God had for them!  Notice it didn’t say ‘they asked Jesus to wait and went to pack some things’.  They immediately left.  All that they had was there.  All that they knew was with them.  Life – their comfortable world – was there.  Yet, Jesus said ‘follow me’… and they did.  No hesitance.

Are we willing to be the ones who, when He says jump, we immediately say ‘Yes Lord!’?

STOP

Wow, that went really fast this week!!  Gosh, I love Fridays!

Want to get in on the awesomeness that is Five Minute Friday?

Let’s write… unscripted, unedited, unchained.  Let’s just write and not worry if it’s just right!

Here’s how:

5-minute Friday1. Write for 5 minutes flat for pure unedited love of the written word. (click on the 5 minute Friday image for the word prompt…it changes every week!)

2. Link back to Lisa-Jo’s blog (and don’t forget to invite others to join in).

3. Make sure to encourage the five minuter who linked up before you.

Please let me know if you decide to join in!!  I love doing Five Minute Friday posts and I also love to read them!!

~Sarah

7 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Jump

  1. Emily says:

    Loved your words, Love your photo, and totally am with you on the wanting to be in control. Isn’t it funny how it’s the complete lack of control that ends up being the best ‘shaper’ of our lives. Happy Friday!

  2. […] Five Minute Friday: Jump (sudryandspecific.wordpress.com) […]

  3. Jacqui says:

    I love your thoughts here, Sarah. As I read your post I thought of how Peter took a plunge into the water after the resurrection…when his heart had been heavy with his own failure and the witnessing of Jesus’ death…when he realized that it was the resurrected Jesus on the shore speaking to him, and there he was out on the sea fishing. I guess I just thought how we take that jump when we first meet Jesus, but then we take it again, and again. And how good He is to always be with us no matter where we are… and how our hearts can always be eager for Him. Anyway, thanks for sharing. I love your heart.

  4. […] Five Minute Friday: Jump (sudryandspecific.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

