‘Talon: Combat Tracking Team’ by Ronie Kendig ~ A Review

Talon

She’s on a mission to find her missing brother. Only his combat tracking dog knows where to look. . . .

Air Force veteran Aspen Courtland just wants her brother back—dead or alive. The US Marine Corps declared him dead, but Aspen is unwilling to let him die without a fight. Aspen adopts her brother’s combat tracking team dog, Talon, hoping to come closer to finding peace about Austin. But after the brutal attack that separated dog and handler, Talon is afraid of his own shadow.

Military Intelligence Operative Dane Markoski has run from the truth most of his life. Now, it’s the only thing that can save him—and his mission—if he dares to face the past. Talon is the key to achieving his objective…but the only way to Talon is through his new owner. But Dane swore he’d never work a woman.

Teamed up in Djibouti, Dane and Aspen battle the elements and extremists. Survival depends on his skills, her optimism, and the courage of a traumatized combat tracking dog. Can Talon muster the valor for one last mission?

OORAH!!

I went into this book expecting it to be very good.  I have loved everything by Ronie Kendig to date.  If you’ve checked out my review of Trinity: Military War Dog you’ll see that I really enjoyed it.  Well, Talon: Combat Tracking Team not only exceeded my expectation, but I think I’ve found a new favourite by Ronie!  (Wolfsbane now moves to runner-up!)

Aspen was a wonderful character.  A sweet woman who just wants to find the brother she believes is alive.  He relationship with Talon is beautiful.  I love how Ronie wrote Talon.  I could almost feel his soft fur and see the sorrow in his eyes.  I wanted to wrap my hands around his neck and assure him that everything would be okay.

Dane is a volcano.  Dangerous and mysterious and oh so appealing.  I love Ronie’s heroines, they are brave and bold and strong… but, oh boy, can she write a smouldering hero!!  Dane is fantastic.  He’s a riddle that you get to try to sort out as Aspen does.  I didn’t see the end coming!  WOW!

Dane and Aspen are like dynamite.  You can feel the sizzle as they meet and the sparks ignite more as their lives are wound together.  Great, great chemistry!

Talon: Combat Tracking Team is a fast-paced run through foreign cities and exotic ports.  Just when you think all is calm for Aspen and Dane, you’re hit broadside by another twist.  This book is beautifully written and will keep you reading well into the night… if it let’s go at all.

Talon: Combat Tracking Team locked it’s teeth in to me as soon as I picked it up and didn’t let go until the last page!  Ronie has done it again.  A great story, fantastic characters and a ride that’s as fast as Talon is!

Seems like 5/5 stars is too few stars!  Can I say 6/5?

*I received a complimentary e-book copy of this novel from NetGalley, courtesy of Barbour Publishing.  I didn’t get paid and I didn’t have to give a positive review!  My opinions are my own and this book rocks!  :)*

Preorder your copy of Talon: Combat Tracking Team here:

Amazon

Chapters

Barnes and Noble <—- They have Talon: Combat Tracking Team on 53% off today (Mar.30,2013).

CBD <—- They have Talon: Combat Tracking Team on 53% off today (Mar. 30, 2013).

Have you read any of Ronie’s books?  Which if your favourite?

~Sarah

Ronie KendigRonie Kendig

Ronie Kendig is an award-winning, bestselling author who grew up an Army brat. She married her own hunky hero, who’s an Army veteran. After twenty-plus years of marriage, she and her husband have a full life with four children and two dogs. Ronie’s degree in psychology has helped her pen novels of raw, broken characters. Since launching onto the publishing scene, Ronie’s Rapid-Fire Fiction has hit the CBA Bestseller List, won the prestigious Christy Award, finaled in numerous contests and reader awards, including ACFW Carol Awards, RWA’s Faith, Hope, & Love’s Inspirational Readers’ Choice Awards, Christian Retailing’s Readers’ Choice Awards, INSPY Award, The Christian Manifesto Lime Awards, and FamilyFiction’s Readers’ Choice Choice Awards. Ronie loves people and helping other writers through speaking, workshops, and/or mentoring. Find Ronie at www.roniekendig.com, on Facebook (www.facebook.com/rapidfirefiction) , Twitter (@roniekendig), and GoodReads (here).

6 thoughts on “‘Talon: Combat Tracking Team’ by Ronie Kendig ~ A Review

  1. Ronie Kendig says:

    Sarah, this is an AMAZING review! I am sooooooo glad you loved this story. It’s honestly one of my favorites, too! THANK YOU so much for taking the time to read it and review it! YOU RAWK!!!

    • sarahssundry says:

      Thanks for coming by to read it (and for commenting)! I can’t tell you how much I love your writing, Ronie! Seriously, I told my husband the other day that I want to write just like you. I know I can’t. I have my own voice, but I adore your books so much!
      ~Sarah

      • Ronie Kendig says:

        HUGS!!! You completely made my day! I can’t wait for you to hear those words said back to you some day, so you’ll know how you just blew my socks off! Thank you so much. Readers/friends like you smear sunshine all over the place! 😀

  2. Debbie Mitchell says:

    Sarah, great review. I am currently reading Talon and you are so right, it is fantastic!

  3. […] be begging for more! If you’ve read the first two in the series ‘Trinity’ and ‘Talon’ then you need to pick this one up! If not, you can start here and then I know you’ll want to […]

Leave a Reply

