Five Minute Friday: Remember

by eioua

GO

Yesterday was a tough day.  I woke up and when I opened my Facebook page, I was hit by a ton of painful status updates and posted images.  Sometimes I enjoy browsing through my Facebook news feed and seeing all the awesomeness that is going on in my friends lives.  This was not one of those days.

Yesterday… I was ambushed with ugliness.  I hear about friends being criticized and abused at work for seemingly no reason.  I watch the news and see the awful state of our world.  I hear about babies being murdered in the womb and, if unsuccessful, in their first few moments of life.  The vultures are circling.

I felt like the Psalmist:

“Restore us, O God; let your face shine, that we may be saved.”  ~Psalms 80:3

I just wanted to be saved from the evil.  To see the world redeemed once and for all.  I was quietly reminded that, though it appears that man is at the core of all the garbage that goes on, we’ve been told very specifically that it isn’t man we battle.

“For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the cosmic powers over this present darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly places.” ~ Ephesians 6:12

I’m not letting human beings off the hook.  We all make poor, stupid and some even downright evil decisions.  It helps to remember though, who the true enemy is.

“The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy.” ~John 10:10a

The world drags me down in the quicksand of pain, trying desperately to exhaust and crush me.  Yet, from above that quicksand, I see an extended hand.  One that bears scars.  Scars put there for me.  I place my hand in His.  Again.  I don’t know why I ever take it out.  I will look into His eyes, filled with love, and repeat with the Psalmist.

From Pinterest

 “My refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust.” ~ Psalm 91:2

I choose to believe and never give up hope.  God is good and He’s in control.  I’ll keep the faith.  I’m trusting His ways, even when His face is hard to see.  I choose to believe.

I remember His promises.

STOP

The lines above in bold black are from an amazing song called ‘I Choose to Believe’ by Phillips, Craig & Dean and can be found here.

Thanks for coming by and checking out my post!

Want to get in on the awesomeness that is Five Minute Friday?

Let’s write… unscripted, unedited, unchained.  Let’s just write and not worry if it’s just right!

Here’s how!

5-minute Friday1. Write for 5 minutes flat for pure unedited love of the written word. (click on the 5 minute friday image for the word prompt…it changes every week!)

2. Link back to Lisa-Jo’s blog (and don’t forget to invite others to join in).

3. Make sure to encourage the five minuter who linked up before you.

That’s it!  It’s wonderful!  Please let me know if you decide to join in, I’d love to come visit!

What do you do when the weight of the world drags you down?

~Sarah

10 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Remember

  1. mrsmount says:

    I love this, especially: “I place my hand in His. Again. I don’t know why I ever take it out.” I do this, too, but why??

    • sarahssundry says:

      Thanks for coming by mrsmount. Human nature I’m afraid gets us to pull away. We’re confident in our own strength. Then, like Peter when he took his eyes off the Lord, we flounder and the panic sends us running back to Him. Thank goodness we are moved back to Him. 🙂
      ~Sarah

  2. Tanya M. says:

    Amen and amen. Girl, I don’t know why I ever take my hand out either. But I’m placing mine in His right now, remembering His promises. By the way, I can see how lyrics move you as much as they do me. I love that! You have a beautiful heart.

    • sarahssundry says:

      Thank you Tanya! I am more and more impacted by lyrics these days. I find myself crying in longing and in worship, depending on the song. Thanks for spending another Friday with me Tanya. I appreciate you so much!
      ~Sarah

  3. Pattyann says:

    Amen. I choose to try and find the good. I know it is out there somewhere in the midst of all. When I am struggling, I remember that “The Bible often says, It came to pass……It never says, It came to stay”. I remember that and know it is true. Love, love your thoughts today.

  4. Stephani says:

    Yes, where would we be without the promises? They keep our feelings, emotions, doubts and temporal vision in check! Thank God for his promises!

Leave a Reply

