Five Minute Friday ~ Home

When Friday hits, I sigh.  Not only because the weekend has arrived, but also because it’s time again for Five Minute Friday!!  I’ll share the details on how you can get involved at the end of this post!  You won’t regret it!  For now, the word for this week is HOME.

By mRio

GO

Home means so many things.  Most obviously it’s the building that you live in, but it means so much more than that.

Home (n.): a place of residence or refuge.

Home is where I am sitting, writing this post.  Where my husband works out beside me and I fight past the noise of hockey on the Wii to the worship on in the background. Where are my headphones?  Where my kids fly up and down the stairs, my girls in dresses and my son jumping in on the game they play.  Where the sun shines in, lighting up the room with warmth and peace.  This place where life is calm (for the moment) and I feel at ease.

But… I am so very aware of the fact that though this place I sit in, cook in, hope in, love in… isn’t really home.  Not the home I was meant for.

I love the definition above because the ‘refuge’ resonated with me.  There’s a song by Building 429 called ‘Where I Belong’ and the chorus says ‘All I know is I’m not home yet.  This is not where I belong.’  There are days that I am blessed with a brief glimpse of my refuge to come.  I am captured up in the joy, peace and safety for a moment in time.  Sorrow, pain, fear, anger, death.  These things do not exist in my refuge.  One day I will be swept away to the refuge that the Lord has gone to prepare for me.

“He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.” ~ Revelation 21:4

On that day, when my tears are wiped by the loving hand of my Father and pain is no more… that is the day that I will be HOME.

Stop

Check out Building 429 ‘Where I Belong’ here

I hear you asking how you can get in on this awesome Friday fun!! Well, here’s the details:

Let’s write… unscripted, unedited, unchained.  Let’s just write and not worry if it’s just right!

5-minute Friday

1. Write for 5 minutes flat for pure unedited love of the written word. (click on the 5 minute friday image for the word prompt…it changes every week!)
2. Link back to Lisa-Jo’s blog (and don’t forget to invite others to join in).
3. Make sure to encourage the five minuter who linked up before you.

That’s it!  It’s awesome!  I’d love it if you would join in!  Please leave me a comment if you decide to give it a try so that I can come by your blog and visit!

~Sarah

8 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday ~ Home

  1. Mel says:

    I love the word “refuge”…so true of home, both the one we have on earth and our true home in heaven. This is a beautiful perspective…your words are such a blessing! Have a great weekend! 🙂

  2. Kelley H says:

    Love the word refuge too! So true! I love this too ” I am captured up in the joy, peace and safety for a moment in time.” Even though it’s temporary, that’s a great place to be captured in. 😉 Thanks for checking out my FMF post too!

    • sarahssundry says:

      I am thrilled each time I am swept away in those moments. It’s like being suspended in a cocoon of all that is good. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, and for commenting!
      ~Sarah

  3. What you can write in a mere five minutes–eloquent and so well organized–shows that you are a master indeed, my friend!

    I actually wrote a post not too long ago about the difference between houses and homes: http://www.lesliefarnsworth.com/blog/2013/2/8/houses-and-homes.html

    Your writing prompt made me think of it again.

    Hugs!
    Leslie
    http://www.lesliefarnsworth.com

  4. Jacqui says:

    Hi Sarah, I finally wrote my FMF this morning, and I was thinking along the same lines as you. I love that God gives us the comforts of home here which point us to our home with Him. Beautiful post!

    • sarahssundry says:

      Thank you Jacqui. It’s so cool to see how God touches people with the same message. The same comfort. I loved your post. It made me remember that I am not alone on this walk and also long for the day when we are truly home!
      ~Sarah

Leave a Reply

