Five Minute Friday: Ordinary

It’s Friday and I have so missed Five Minute Friday!  So glad to be back in to it today.  Stay tuned for all the details on how you can get in on the weekly fun!

snowflake

Photo by Craig Hilts {Prairie Fire Photography}

GO

It’s so easy to get caught up in the day to day, the rat-race… the ordinary of life.

We run from one activity to the next to the next, hardly letting our feet touch the ground, until we finally drop into bed at the end of night and allow sleep to claim us.

We miss the beauty in the ordinary because we’ve forgotten to look for it.

I sit in the yard with my kids in summer and they marvel at everything.  Everything is amazing.  Butterflies, spider webs (cringe), ants, bubbles… I could go on.

How often do you drive to work while the sun rises?  How often do you actually sit and look at a sunrise or sunset?  The sun rises and the sun sets.   It happens every day.  Ordinary… but in the midst of that ‘ordinary’ is the extraordinary.  The beauty.  The sunrise could be blue.  The sunset pink.  They could be a single color… but they’re not.  Instead the sky flares as though fire courses through the clouds hovering above.  Colors soar, highlights ignite.  Painted with a loving hand, the sight waits for us to just pay attention.  To steal our breath away, if only for a moment.

We often get 5 feet of snow in the winter where I’m from.  I don’t care for snow.  Except the days when the snowflakes are huge and drift lazily, carelessly to the ground.  I forget that there is so much beauty in the ‘ordinary’ of snow.  Look at the above image.  Take it in.  Each and every pile of snow has countless numbers of these beauties.

I want to focus on seeing the beauty in the Ordinary.

STOP

So, here’s the scoop.  Every friday, at the prompting of our fearless leader Lisa-Jo, we write for five minute on the word prompt she provides here.

We just write, without worrying that it’s just right.  Unedited, unscripted, unpredictable.

It’s a fantastic challenge!  Come join us!

I’d love to hear from you if you decide to join in!  I’d love to be able to see what you have to say!

Also, stop by Prairie Fire Photography and see the awesome images that Craig Hilts has captured!!  Click here!

5-minute Friday

18 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Ordinary

  1. What a beautiful way to share something un-ordinary: a sunset, snowflakes…
    Beautiful.
    Thanks for sharing!

  2. Sue says:

    I really LOVE to slow down and catch a piece of beauty…ordinary and as common as the sun rising and setting …
    Now, I’d like to stop trying to capture so much on my camera and get back to SEEing, and knowing that those beautiful things around me just can’t be duplicated…although, that snowflake picture is awesome! Wow!
    Thanks again for your visit ; )
    Sue

    • sarahssundry says:

      It is wonderful to just stop and look around isn’t it! 🙂 I do so love the simplicity and intricacy of that snowflake picture. I hope you’ll come by again sometime!
      ~Sarah

  3. Jacqui says:

    Hi Sarah, I’ve been reading Ann Voskamp’s One Thousand Gifts this week, and so much of what you’re saying reminds of her book. And it’s so true. There’s so much beauty around us that we take for granted. We forget to stop and take notice. To be in awe…child-like. Your writing is so beautiful and descriptive! Thank you sharing!

  4. Barbie says:

    “We miss the beauty in the ordinary because we’ve forgotten to look for it.” This is so true. I am working on opening my eyes to see! visiting form the Five Minute Friday (although, sadly, I didn’t link up this week.)

    • sarahssundry says:

      I missed the last two weeks Barbie so I know how you feel. It will feel wonderful when you get back to it and I look forward to reading your post! Thanks for coming to visit! 🙂
      ~Sarah

  5. Tanya M. says:

    Yay! Glad you’re back, Sarah! I am so blessed by your writing. Honestly, your words just draw me in and inspire me. Love this reminder to look for the beauty in the ordinary. I’ll be focusing on that today. 🙂

    • sarahssundry says:

      Thank you Tanya. I’m so grateful that my words are used by the Lord to touch others. I am so grateful that you come back each week and visit with me. Blessings on your beautiful day! 🙂
      ~Sarah

  6. Lisa says:

    Beauty in the ordinary…we just have to pause to look! 😉 Thanks for sharing!

  7. Beautiful! Inspires me to look up from my hustle and bustle and soak it in!

  8. Loved this! One of the things I love most about running is that as I slowly plod along for half an hour to an hour, I’m forced to notice things I ignore so much of the time: my breathing, the sunrise, the flowers, winter trees, how my body feels, my posture, camouflaged bunnies in the early morning, the small surprises hiding along the sides of the road from people’s cars and backpacks.

    • sarahssundry says:

      I love that you even enjoy the litter. You are delightful! 🙂 I feel the same about walking (I wish I could run). So much out there to look at, explore and marvel at!
      ~Sarah

  9. Andee Flynn says:

    Oh my goodness1 I just love this post. I love the poetry of the snowflakes drifting carelessly and lazily to the ground. What a beautiful image! The extraordinary in the ordinary. Love!

Leave a Reply

