“Broken Wings” by Shannon Dittemore ~ A Review & A Giveaway

Broken-Wings

Welcome to my stop on the Broken Wings blog tour hosted by YA Bound!  You can see the full schedule HERE.  For now, let’s get into what I thought about it!  🙂

Broken Wings

Broken Wings

Release Date: February 19, 2013

Paperback/e-book

320 pages

Giant angels with metal wings and visible song. A blind demon restored from the pit of darkness. And a girl who has never felt more broken.

Brielle sees the world as it really is: a place where the Celestial exists side by side with human reality. But in the aftermath of a supernatural showdown, her life begins to crumble. Her boyfriend, Jake, is keeping something from her—something important. Her overprotective father has started drinking again. He’s dating a much younger woman who makes Brielle’s skin crawl, and he’s downright hostile toward Jake. Haunting nightmares keep Brielle from sleeping, and flashes of Celestial vision keep her off kilter.

What she doesn’t know is that she’s been targeted. The Prince of Darkness himself has heard of the boy with healing in his hands and of the girl who sees through the Terrestrial Veil. When he plucks the blind demon, Damien, from the fiery chasm and sends him back to Earth with new eyes, the stage is set for a cataclysmic battle of good versus evil.

Then Brielle unearths the truth about her mother’s death and she must question everything she ever thought was true.

Brielle has no choice. She knows evil forces are converging and will soon rain their terror down upon the town of Stratus. She must master the weapons she’s been given. She must fight.

But can she fly with broken wings?

I’ve just finished Broken Wings (book 2 in the Angel Eyes series) and the first word that left my mouth was WOW!

Broken Wings is another extraordinary thrill-ride into the celestial.

Shannon brings us further into the realm of demons and angels with celestial armies, warriors and spies.  I could see and feel all that Shannon wrote.  Every triumph, every agony and every battle.

Shannon is a master of imagery, similar to Frank Peretti or Ted Dekker.  As she describes the majestic ‘Sabres’ I found myself nearly breathless with wonder to see with my own eyes the awe inspiring sight she portrayed!  I found myself sucked into the small town which is the focus of this celestial battle.  Shannon sets the scene early and leaves your heart pounding in anticipation.

The description of worship in Broken Wings  has stayed with me since I’ve finished the book.  I’ve always enjoyed worship and have found it even more rich with Shannon’s imagery.

I was so enthralled with Broken Wings that it did not take me long to reach the last page and it nearly broke my heart.

This is a wonderful series that I have so enjoyed!  I cannot wait for Dark Halo, due out in August.  Seriously, I cannot wait!  Hurry up August!  Shannon is so skilled at telling a story that keeps you on the edge of your seat and leaves you desperate for the next book!

Shannon, you’ve done it again!  I was immediately as captivated by Broken Wings as I was with Angel Eyes. (<–Check out my review here!!)

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble

*I received a complimentary e-book copy of this novel from NetGalley, courtesy of Thomas Nelson.  I didn’t get paid and I didn’t have to give a positive review!  My opinions are my own and this book rocks!  :)*

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

shannon dittemore

Shannon is awesome and answered a few questions for us about Broken Wings!

1)      What inspired this series?

This is such a great question and one I get asked a lot. Writing about the supernatural was really a very logical choice for me. I grew up in a church with a travelling creative arts team. We did puppetry, mime, dance, that sort of thing. The supernatural featured prominently in so many of our dramas and the invisible world has always been something I’ve liked reading about and pondering. When I decided to write a young adult novel, angels and demons seemed the most natural thing in the world to explore.

2)      What is the most fun about writing a book that includes a look into the celestial?

 I’m a huge fan of imagination and that’s really what this trilogy has been for me. A journey into the what ifs. Broken Wings, especially, has a lot of speculation. I got to develop a new kind of angel in this one. Sabres. Gigantic angels with wings made up of blades instead of feathers. Very fun.  

 3)      Who was the most difficult character to write?

I reserve the right to change this answer at any time, but I’m going to say Marco. In early drafts, Marco’s role was very clear to me, but as the story grew and changed, so did he. That said, he’s one of my favorite characters as well.

 4)      Who is your favourite angel?  (I know, it’s like asking a mother which of her children is her favourite) Why?

Well! Goodness. Um. I think I’m most committed to Canaan, because he’s been with me from the beginning, but it’s very hard not to say Pearla. Pearla was such a fun character to write. A character full of those what ifs I was talking about earlier. I’d love to tell some other, smaller, stories from her perspective.

 5)      I love to know, before I read a book, who the author pictures in the roles.  If ‘Broken Wings’ was made into a movie, do you have actors in mind to portray your characters?  Who do you imagine in those roles?

I do have my very own dream cast! I’d love to see Elle Fanning in the role of Brielle. I just adore her. She’s got the right look, is crazy talented and a dancer to boot. For Jake, I’ve always pictured Thomas Dekker. You know the kid who played John Conner in Terminator: the Sarah Conner Chronicles. It’s his eyes, I think. I’ve actually cast most everyone else, but I’ll just point you to my Pinterest board for that. Lots of pictures and I’d love everyone’s opinion. I’m curious who you would all cast. Here’s the link: http://pinterest.com/shanditty/angel-eyes-trilogy/

6)      Do you have a favourite paragraph or line from ‘Broken Wings’?  (if it won’t give away too much)

I like how it begins. In hell. It’s always fun to start in hell. Things can only get better from there, right? Here are the first few sentences.

 Hell is loud.

Talons scratch at the stone floor and clack against the pillars circling the chamber as the great hall fills. Hisses and snarls sound all around but the noise doesn’t unsettle the Cherub.

She’s been here before.

7)      Has writing this series impacted you in any ways you didn’t expect?

Yes. Absolutely. You think you’re ready, you know? To put your stories out there. To create characters and share them with others. But it was harder than I thought. Once the books are completed and on a shelf somewhere, they don’t belong to you anymore. They belong to readers. As a reader myself, and a lover of story, I adore that. But as a writer, it’s a little scarier than I anticipated. Readers bring their own lives to what they read and your world mingles with theirs. It’s an honor anytime someone takes time to step into my imagination for a few hours and it humbles me.

8)      What is the one thing that you would like us readers to take from this story?

That you’re not alone. Ever. Even when it most feels it. Especially when it’s darker than you ever imagined it could be. I’m a girl who dealt with fear for a season and if readers walk away from my books knowing they’re not alone in that, I’ll be very happy.

9)      ‘Dark Halo’ is book 3 in this series… can we have a sneak peek?  Pretty please?

 Okay, let me see if I can do this without spoiling Broken Wings. How about I give you a few facts about Dark Halo? Cryptic facts.  🙂

 ~There will be a new point of view added and, yes, it’s a character you’ve met.

~Kaylee’s Tasmanian Devil slippers give a repeat performance.

~Some of my favorite moments happen in the basement of a lighthouse.

~We “see” more of Ali.

Thank you Shannon for the insight!  I love knowing more details!!

SHANNON DITTEMORE

Shannon Dittemore has an overactive imagination and a passion for truth. Her lifelong journey to combine the two is responsible for a stint at Portland Bible College, performances with local theater companies, and a focus on youth and young adult ministry. The daughter of one preacher and the wife of another, she spends her days imagining things unseen and chasing her two children around their home in Northern California. Angel Eyes is her first novel.

“I’m a firm believer that books open doors into the imagination and remind us that we should venture there often. We should dream. We should try hard things. We should be fearless. And while there are many obstacles that stand in the way, I hope my stories remind readers that life is to be lived. Pain is to be tackled. Mountains are to be climbed. And while you may fall into dark places along the way, light is as close as the prayer on your lips.”

Website / Twitter / Goodreads / Facebook / Pinterest

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

***GIVEAWAY***
The giveaway has ended.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Angel Eyes

Angel Eyes

Release Date: May 29, 2012

Paperback/e-book

336 pages

Once you’ve seen, you can’t unsee. Everything changes when you’ve looked at the world through . . .

ANGEL EYES

Brielle’s a ballerina who went to the city to chase her dreams and found tragedy instead. She’s come home to shabby little Stratus, Oregon, to live with her grief and her guilt . . . and the incredible, numbing cold she can’t seem to shake.

Jake’s the new guy at school. The boy next door with burning hands and an unbelievable gift that targets him for corruption.

Something more than fate has brought them together. An evil bigger than both of them lurks in the shadows nearby, hiding in plain sight. Two angels stand guard, unsure what’s going to happen. And a beauty brighter than Jake or Brielle has ever seen is calling them to join the battle in a realm where all human choices start.

A realm that only angels and demons—and Brielle—can perceive.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Whew!  That was a TON of fun!  So since Shannon asked, if you’ve read Angel Eyes and/or Broken Wings… who would you cast?  Leave us a comment with your choices!

~Sarah

One thought on ““Broken Wings” by Shannon Dittemore ~ A Review & A Giveaway

Leave a Reply

