Five Minute Friday: Bare

By Seyed Mostafa Zamani

GO…

I want to be a polished Christian.  And yet, for the sake of those I come in contact with, I don’t want to be a shellacked one.

I want people to see my flaws.  Yikes.. really?  Good thing there aren’t many of them.  (Pfft… yeah right!)

I don’t want to be so polished on the outside that people can see their reflection.  Instead, I want to have the scratches, gouges, bumps and bruises that go along with living this life.  So that when people look at me, they see His reflection.  They see my flaws but they also see that He loves me anyway.  I want to be bare.

There’s a lot of fear that comes with being bare.  I don’t have to worry that the Lord will let me down, but I know that I will let Him down.  I know that I will let people down and they will do the same to me.  I know that there is a lot of vulnerability that comes with being bare.  To be recklessly abandoned, never holding back myself for the Lord.  Reckless isn’t something that I do easily.  I am a very cautious (some would say paranoid) person.

I was just listening to Sidewalk Prophets-Live Like That, and my heart resonates when I sing

‘Is there evidence that I’ve been changed.  When they see me, do they see you?’

I want to be bare.  I want the world to see that I’ve been changed, redeemed.  I want them to see the Lord.  I want my worship to be more than just a song.

Baring my heart so that others can see His.

STOP

I hear you asking how you can get in on this awesome Friday fun!! Well, here’s the details:

Let’s write… unscripted, unedited, unchained.  Let’s just write and not worry if it’s just right!

1. Write for 5 minutes flat for pure unedited love of the written word. (click on the image above for the word prompt…it changes every week!)
2. Link back to Lisa-Jo’s blog (and don’t forget to invite others to join in).
3. Make sure to encourage the five minuter who linked up before you.

That’s it!  Easy right!  I’d love to have you join me. Please leave me a comment here if you decide to join in.  I’d love to visit your Five Minute Friday posts!  🙂

~Sarah

11 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Bare

  1. whimzie says:

    “I don’t want to be so polished on the outside that people can see their reflection. Instead, I want to have the scratches, gouges, bumps and bruises that go along with living this life. So that when people look at me, they see His reflection. They see my flaws but they also see that He loves me anyway. I want to be bare.”

    I capital L LOVE these words. Absolutely beautiful and the cry of my heart.

  2. Missy says:

    Sarah, these words resonate deeply within my own heart’s longing to be changed, transformed to more Christ-likeness. With wonder if it is, indeed, being noticeably changed. And the idea of having a polished heart but not a shellacked one was powerful! Loved this post!

  3. Grace says:

    Loved your post today. I am relishing the horrific pictures of Beyonce, for they prove humanity. (snicker) My concern for my walk is not too much polish, for that is painful and laborious, but shellac. Polish shows the depth of the work, the flaws that have been molded into beauty. Shellac, any old cut of wood can be glossed over. But hit it with the trauma of life and it crumbles. Polish shows what a craftsman has done with flaws. Shellac makes a hack look like a craftsman. For a hot minute. Our fellow flawed people are remarkably adept at smelling shellac. And appreciating the depth that polish shows. I have gouges and splintery areas. Taking my hand off of the whitewash brush.

  4. Tanya M. says:

    Another fantastic post, Sarah! I especially love your imagery of reflections. So powerful. I used to be a shellacked Christian. That was all that mattered – actually being shellacked, not a Christian. I know better now. And, by the way, about that video you posted on my page?. Thank you, thank you, thank you! *hugs*

    • sarahssundry says:

      Thank-you Tanya. It seems to me that we are kindred spirits… both in joy and in sorrow. I’m glad that the song touched you, as it does me so often. You’re in my prayers and know that I’m standing behind you, even though miles seperate us. *hugs*
      ~Sarah

  5. […] Five Minute Friday: Bare (sudryandspecific.wordpress.com) […]

  6. Great post! I would like to try the 5 Minute Fridays… I always see Jessie Gunderson post them, but didn’t know how it started lol. I don’t know if I’ll be any good at it… But I’ll try!

    • sarahssundry says:

      Thanks Sarah. I urge you to give it a try. The nice thing is that there is no ‘not good at it’. You write unedited and unscripted and you’ve done it perfectly. We all write a little different and we all have different thoughts. That’s was make Five Minute Friday so cool! I can’t wait to see yours!
      ~Sarah

Leave a Reply

