Five Minute Friday: Dive

5-minute-friday-1

If you are unaware of what ‘Five Minute Friday’ is then you’re in a boat I just leapt out of.  🙂  I didn’t know about it until recently.

Basically, you write for 5 minutes.  Sounds easy right?  Here’s where it get’s a bit tougher (at least for me), there is no editing, no over-thinking and no backtracking.  For an over-thinker, this may be a struggle… but I’m going to try it anyhow.  Not editing will be a trial too… but I won’t allow myself to sully the pureness of just writing what comes.  It may actually be very freeing.  If I can get past the no editing part.  I’m having heart palpitations.

Oh dear… I’m already over-thinking.  Better get to it.  DIVE!

by freeform systems

GO!

There are so many things that can go wrong.  So many obstacles to consider.  Yet, with all my heart… with every fibre of my being… I want to do this.  

I want to write a book.  

Of course I want it to be amazing, an epic tale.  I envision the actors and actresses who will play the fantastic roles that I will create for them.

The neurotic, anxious part of me screams that there are millions upon millions of books out there.  What makes yours so special?  I almost quit before I start.  Believing that I don’t have anything original and it’s fledgling wings will never get it off the ground.

So much of my life has been spent not doing things.  Others do it better.  You’ll fail and everyone will see.  You’re no good.

Well, not this time.  This time I will dive in to the deep end and see what happens when I hit the surface.  Will I be in a storm of failure or will the sun break over the water and bring peace and joy?  Impossible to say for sure but, with prayer, I’m doing it anyhow.

The words flow… and then they don’t.  The ideas come… and then they don’t.

Before I know it I am writing ‘The End’ on my masterpiece.  Well, it’s a masterpiece to me.

The next step… finding an editor.  So much can go wrong here.  My  dream, my creation could be trampled.  My hands shake as I write this but…

I’m going to DIVE and see what happens.  See what God has for me.

STOP.

Come join ‘Five Minute Friday’ here:  http://lisajobaker.com/2013/01/five-minute-friday-dive/

If you decide to try this for yourself, I would love to see what you write, so please post here!!  Pretty please?  🙂  Thanks for reading!

10 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Dive

  1. Sherie says:

    Wow! I know you can do it! Just open word…and start typing! That will get you going! Don’t fret over the details yet! Just start working on it! And if you need some words of encouragement…I am here to give them to you! Nice to meet you, friend!

  2. christywillard says:

    Found you at FMF. Congratulations for reaching for your dream. I’ve been thinking a lot about how we measure success lately. And success is not based on what other people are doing or not doing, success is achieving your goals. And just writing your book sounds like success to me (whether it goes any further or not).

    Christy @ A Heartening Life
    http://www.ahearteninglife.com

  3. Dana Pittman says:

    You can do it! I will never forget when I wrote (and published) my first book. I say go for it because you are an original…no one can do, or write, the story (or stories) that you are meant to write.

  4. Mary Hess says:

    LOVE this! I so understand where you’re coming from. I operate the same way (even when I decided to do Five Minute Friday – lol). GO FOR IT!! You can do it! Who cares if there are a million books? You have something to offer only YOU can offer. Yay!

  5. Colline says:

    Go ahead and dive in. One never knows what is around the corner.

Leave a Reply

