Confessions of a bookaholic.

Books

Hello, my name is Sarah and I am a Bookaholic.

It’s true.  I can hide it no longer.

Okay, it’s not really that serious, so don’t worry about writing support letters… unless they are in the form of a book.  Yeah, a really good book with a support letter woven throughout.  With characters that… Sorry!  Sorry, I got carried away.

My husband likes to tease me that all I did as a child was read.  It’s not ALL I did!

I enjoy books.  I enjoy the smell of them, the feel of them, the look of them… and yes, even the sound of them.

I enjoy holding a book and, as I read, feeling the thickness of the pages shift from my right hand to my left hand.  The sound of a turning page is like the crackling of a fire in a fireplace, the comfort seeping into my bones as I warm to a good story.

Recently, I received a Kobo for Christmas.  I had been on the fence as to whether the ereaders were for me.  As discussed above, I enjoy a paperback/hardcover for more than just the words.  However, I am glad to announce that I now have the best of both worlds.

My Kobo is wonderful.  I have over 80 books at my fingertips.  The only downside to this is that if my Kobo breaks… I have over 80 books trapped on a useless paperweight.  This has happened once already and I’ve experienced the horror.  Thank goodness for the people at Kobo who shipped me a replacement!

There are several authors out there that when I know they are putting out a new book I wait with eager anticipation.  I’m like a kid at Christmas.  The book release dates are like the wrapping paper that I am only allowed to sit and stare at.

Present

I wake up the morning of the release and head for the computer or wait eagerly by the door for the mail.  It’s an almost tangible craving to get my hands on the next book that I know will be awesome!

This fall, two of my favourite authors have or are putting out a new book.  This is making me giddy.

I have, in my hand as I write this, the inspiration for this post.  A beautiful paperback copy of ‘Trinity: Military War Dog’ by Ronie Kendig.  Ronie has amazing talent for telling a spell-binding story.  Not only are her characters well written, they become like friends.  They are so real, so raw in emotion that you can’t help but connect.  She makes you feel so close to them that you can’t put the book down when they are in peril.  I have found myself holding my breath, sighing with relief and yes… even crying.  She writes an intense military novel.  Once you get through one, you want to go back and read it all over again.  Ronie’s novels are thrill-rides!

The other gift waiting under the tree is ‘A Dangerous Stage’ by Camy Tang.  I truly enjoyed Camy’s ‘Sushi Series’.  She writes a wonderful, spunky, down-to-earth romance novel!  Her characters are sweet, sassy and such fun.  I enjoy her strong female characters and the men who work hard to get close to them… or to avoid them.  I read the first in this Protection series and, as expected, she also writes a great action novel.  She has a way of drawing you into the book and making them fast paced, edge-of-your seat reads!  I can’t wait to see how the second one turns out!

I am working on my own novel and as I read books by these two fantastic ladies (and many others), I can only hope that I can write half as well as they do.

The thought of holding my own paperback novel in my hand is a dream that I haven’t dared give voice to until recently.   We’ll see where it ends up.  Either way, I am enjoying the process.

There are many wonderful authors out there who will keep writing and I… well, of course I will keep reading!

“When words cease and you can smell the story location, it is intoxicating. I call it book-lag. It takes a minute to get back in my physical zip-code. Delicious.” ~Kirstie

My friend wrote me this in response to this post and I had to add it.  I live in book-lag often and I love it!

Do you have an author whose books you just have to read the moment they hit the shelves?  I’d love to hear from you!

Ronie Kendig ~http://roniekendig.com/

Trinity: Military War Dog ~ http://www.amazon.com/Trinity-Military-War-Breed-Apart/dp/1616265949/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1349382281&sr=8-1&keywords=ronie+kendig

Camy Tang ~ http://camytang.com/

A Dangerous Stage ~ http://www.amazon.com/Dangerous-Stage-Protection-Hire/dp/0310320348/ref=sr_1_6?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1349382385&sr=1-6&keywords=camy+tang

8 thoughts on “Confessions of a bookaholic.

  1. Ronie says:

    Awesome!! Thank you so much for mentioning TRINITY. And Camy rocks it with her new series, doesn’t she? So happy for her–great choice for reading. 😀

    • sarahssundry says:

      Thanks for commenting Ronie! I am so enjoying Trinity! Can’t wait to post my first book review on my blog of her awesome story! Camy is exceptional for sure. I’ve loved you ladies since I discovered your books. 🙂

  2. Fear not, fellow bookaholic,you’re among friends here. Pick a cozy chair for your reading and settle in.

    My must-read authors; Nora Roberts, Clive Cussler and David Baldacci. I just sampled my first Janet Evanovich, so I’m working my way through her stuff.

    • sarahssundry says:

      Thanks Eagle-Eyed! I’d love to curl up with a good book right now. Chilly days lead to a stronger desire for the warmth of a good book! I’ve read a few David Baldacci and Clive Cussler too.

  3. camytang says:

    Aw thanks so much, Sarah! You totally made my day today!

    Can you redownload your Kobo books? I know you can through BarnesandNoble.com (onto your Nook). I would be devastated to lose any of the books on my Nook!!!!

    • sarahssundry says:

      I’m glad I could make your day Camy! You do the same for me so often!
      I was able to redownload them on my new Kobo, thankfully! I was pretty bereft for the weeks it took to get the new one!

  4. I am really satisfied with this posting that you have given us. This is really a stupendous work done by you. Thank you and looking for more posts

Leave a Reply

