Depressingly blessed

La Chureca

I know, such a strange title.  I’m sure that it could seem ungrateful but I’m really not.  More and more this year I am so aware of all that I have to be thankful for.

There are the big things like family and friends, good health for those I love, food on the table and  a warm home.  These are much easier to see than the smaller things that often float along the wayside like a stick  along the bow of a cruising boat.  Some of the smaller things I am grateful for today:  A walk on a crisp autumn day, tickets to a great football game, great books, laughing with friends, a reliable (or even not so reliable) vehicle to drive, grocery stores, doctors and hospitals, phones, a computer to blog on… I could go on and on.  I’m sure that you could put your own list together right now.  I encourage it.  Even just take 5 seconds and think of your blessings.  I’ll wait.

So, in the midst of all this blessing… how did I come up with a title like the one above?

Well, I’ve been following this organization on Twitter called Sevenly.  (I’ll post the link below.)  It is a very cool organization that raises money for a new cause every week.  They’ve worked on raising money for some pretty awesome causes.

This weeks cause dowsed me in frigid water while punching me in the stomach, and has left me breathless for 5 days now.

It’s not pretty, but I’m going to tell you about it because it needs to be heard.

By gingercreekchurch

La Chureca

There’s a garbage dump in Nicaragua called ‘La Chureca’.   This particular one is home to about 2,000 people.  Most of them are children.  They spend their days digging through the trash in order to find food and things they can sell.  Sections of the garbage are burnt and the fumes add toxins into already toxic bodies.  This is heartbreaking, but it isn’t even the most heartbreaking thing about this.  Many parents, who can’t make enough money, encourage their young daughters to ‘give themselves’ to the truck drivers so they can have first pick… of the new garbage.  Most of the children sniff glue to get high in order to not feel anything.  The high suppresses the appetite and they can’t feel that they are starving to death.

I can barely even write this.  I’m not writing it for shock effect, just as reality.  This, is someone’s reality.   Less than 15 hours away by air… this is how they live.

So, for those of you still reading, this leads me to the title.  I was walking tonight, taking in all the amazing colours and smiling at the people as they passed me, and thinking about how blessed I am.  Suddenly, all the ‘stuff’ around me felt… depressing.  I am worried about finding the best Christmas gift, worried that I won’t get my book written, bummed when I don’t have a chocolate bar.  I am so focused on the ‘stuff’ in my life.  I have so much and they have… nothing.  I’ve seen the disparity and that is what I find so depressing.

I wouldn’t be surprised if right now some of you are thinking ‘wow, this chick has gotten depressing’.  I had intended that my blog would be fun and light, but it will also be deeper and harder to read sometimes (and harder to write).

I don’t expect you to click over to Sevenly and donate your life savings. I wanted to draw attention to this deplorable and heart-wrenching situation and the people who are in it.  I also wanted to have this as a reminder to myself, and hopefully some of you, of just how blessed we are.  I hope that now that you’ve read this you are able to look at your day and see all the blessings and all that there is to be thankful for.

I’m thankful to you for sticking this one out with me!  You guys rock!  Will you share with me what you feel blessed by?  What you are grateful for?  It can be one word or you can write an essay.  I would love to see your list!  And if you don’t mind sharing my post, we can help get the word out and hopefully help a few people out.

Here’s the link for Sevenly: https://www.sevenly.org/

And a link to their video about La Chureca:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O5Yu3PaURKE&feature=player_embedded

~Sarah

4 thoughts on “Depressingly blessed

  1. shayfabbro says:

    I totally know how you feel. Our hearts break for what breaks His. I just wish I had countless millions to give to every organization that needs it. It can be so overwhelming sometimes. I just have to keep telling myself that it’s better to give all you can than to think it’s hopeless and not give at all.

  2. Shannie says:

    I watched the documentary about this place some months ago and it has stayed with me. It is indeed very sad. Thank you for reminding me about it and for the link. I count knowing you among the many blessings in my life. I love your blog, whether it is happy, sad, deep or silly and can’t wait for you to finish and publish your book!!
    The people of La Chureca are in my daily prayers.

    • sarahssundry says:

      Thank-you Shannie for your kind words! I am truly touched and I am so glad you are enjoying it! I hope that you continue to enjoy it.

      I would be interested in seeing the documentary you saw. I’m sure it was even more sad than the small amount that I have seen. Thank-you for praying with me for the people of La Chureca.

Leave a Reply

